What Makes Each Raag Different?

When we analyze the notes they basically come back down to the 7 basic notes or swar , which are SA,RE,GA,MA,PA,DHA,NI these are also known as SARGAM. There are also slight variations of notes like the komal notes. The notes RE,GA,DHA,NI and these can be taken in their Shudh or Komal forms depending on the raag. A Tivra form is also taken of the swar MA.

Now each of these is the same note; however, taken in a little different tone. So,each raag has a signature combination of notes be it shudh, komal or tivra notes. This combination is reserved for this particular raag only, hence whenever this combination plays the listeners can identify which raag the musician is going to sing/play.

The instrumentalists playing with the singer also become aware of the raag and can play accordingly. This combination is repeated at various times in the raag. The combintion of swars forms kind of like the foundation for the raag.

The combination for each raag is very interesting because there are just so many possible combinations. You can combine shudh notes with Komal notes with TIvra notes. There are just so many combinations which make each raag so unique and beautiful.

I hope you found this blog post interesting if you did you can go ahead and like it. If you have any feed back please feel free to comment down below or email me( email id in the contact menu)

Also the feedback could be anything, anything at all. It would just feel great to know that some of you are reading this ❤


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s